You are here: OBIEE How to setup Multi User Development in OBIEE 11g

How to setup Multi User Development in OBIEE 11g

Rate this item
(9 votes)

 

OBIEE Multi User Development

 

What is MUD

      Facilitates the development of application metadata in enterprise-scale deployments

      Application metadata is stored in a centralized metadata repository (RPD) file

      Several developers work concurrently on subsets of the metadata and then merge these subsets back into a master repository

      No scope for overwriting each other’s work

      Features include versioning, version history viewing and version comparison 


 

2.JPG

 

Creating Projects

      File > Open > Offline

      Manage > Projects>New Project

      Provide a Name to the project

      Select rpd objects to be part of the project and save

3.JPG

4.JPG

 

“extractprojects” Utility

      Command line utility for extracting OBIEE projects from MUD RPD

      Located at the Dir :

 ORACLE_INSTANCE/bifoundation/OracleBIApplication/coreapplication/setup

      extractprojects –B base_repository_name -O output_repository_name {-I input_project_name} [-P repository_password] [-L]

      extractprojects -B my_repos.rpd -O extract_repos.rpd -I project1 -I project2

 Give password: my_rpd_password

      Logging file ProjExtr.YYYYMMDD.HHMMSS.xml

MUD Menu Options

      Compare with Original. Compares the working extracted local repository to the original extracted repository. When this option is selected, the Compare repositories dialog opens and lists all the changes made to the working extracted repository since you checked out the projects.

      Merge Local Changes. Locks the master repository on the network multiuser directory to allow you to check in your changes.

      Publish to Network. After you successfully merge your changes, the master repository opens locally and the Publish to Network submenu item is available. When you select this option, the lock is removed, the repository is published, and the repository closes.

      Undo Merge Local Changes. Rolls back any previously merged local changes, and leaves the repository checked out so that you can make additional changes and then merge your local changes again. This option is only available after you have already merged local changes.

      Discard Local Changes. Any time after check out and before check in, you can discard your changes. When you select this option, the working repository closes without giving you an opportunity to save your work.

MUD Env Development Options

      \\network\MUD\devoptfile.opt created to specify development options

      In standard windows INI format

      Hidden flag should be turned on for the file

      To be managed “ONLY by MUD administrators”

      OPT file contents and explanations :

[Options]

BuildNumber = Yes (Displays Version of rpd)

Admin = weblogic;admin2 (Logins of MUD Admins)

Mandatory Consistency Check = Yes (Forces CC when before Publish)

Equalize During Merge = Yes (Forces Equalization during merge process)

 

 

8.JPG

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

12.JPG

13.JPG

14.JPG

15.JPG

'If you found this article useful, please rate the same"

Read 10911 times